Banner
Getting Started with Online Learning
English
- 7 Fun Creative Writing Exercises to Boost Your Learners' Writing Skills Using creative writing exercises with your students will help improve their creative and analytical writing skills immensely. The key to improving the craft of writing is with daily practice, of course. We know that there's not always time for it in the class schedule, but not to worry. The 7 fun creative writing exercises featured below are ones that students can use both in and out of class.
Languages
- Musings of an eLiterate Teacher I decided to try a collaborative project with other ATAR Year 12 Indonesian teachers initially (as the highest stakes students) which involves some listening, note-taking, and verbal response.
Science
- SCINEMA: Putting the Science in Cinema SCINEMA is the largest international science film festival in the southern hemisphere, showcasing the best science feature, documentary, animated and experimental films from filmmakers around the world. You can see a selection of this year’s winning entries, completely free, for the next 12 months! Films cover a range of STEM topics, each with dedicated teacher resources packed full of lesson inspiration, classroom activities and thought-provoking questions all linked to the Australian National Curriculum.
Technology - Computing
A very useful Guide to Online Learning
This guidebook is intended to support staff at The de Ferrers Academy and across The de Ferrers Trust with online learning. Although most students have iPad as part of our 1:1 programme, a lot of the tools and ideas work via web browsers on multiple platforms and may therefore be useful for any teachers and educators developing models of online teaching & learning.
WA Education Department
WA Department of Education Learning at Home
- Teaching and Learning The following resources have been shared by the Department of Education to support Remote Learning, they are broken down into year level and can be accessed here:
Other State Education Departments
- QLD Govt:- Additional Resources and Links There are many educational websites that provide learning activities for students of all ages. To help you select relevant activities when visiting these websites look at the Prep to Year 10 Australian Curriculum Parent information webpage to see what your children will be learning in each learning area at each stage of schooling.
- English Resources All are free and many aligned with the Australian Curriculum
NSW Department of Education Learning from home
NSW Department of Education Learning from home advice to parents and carers
Victoria Education and Training Learning from home
Victoria Education and Training FUSE
Tasmania Dept of Education Learning at home
Queensland Government learning@home
CEWA Religion and Life Resources
All the libguides for Religion and Life are accessible by teachers. There is a libguide for each REL unit and there are links via the units on the RE website. The last two are still under a model used for kids working at a distant school – the lessons are set out for them. All these libguides were created under the licence of the Catholic Library
Resources for Home
- Level Up A little handbook of Learning On-Line from Haileybury in Victoria. Really worth a read
- Wabisabi:- Wabisabi at Learning
- Leading Online When School is Closed Global Online efforts to help those feeling less ready for the school leadership and operating challenges presented by the COVID-19 situation
- TpT Community:- Distance Learning Strategies Over the last few weeks, we’ve heard from teachers that they’re being asked to prepare options for distance learning. To help teachers and parents who might find themselves in this situation, we talked to some experts in the TpT community who have experience with distance learning (which we define for this post as learning that takes place outside of the classroom for an extended period of time). They shared some of their tried-and-true strategies and tips for engaging students in alternative settings.
- Free Audio Books 271 Audible English audio books for kids free during coronavirus pandemic
- Teacher Compilation of Free Resources Teachers have put together a list of the sites, resources, or subscriptions that are already free or are being given away during this time due to covid-19 or that they use in synchronous or asynchronous learning environments. For example Britanica and IXL providing free learning content to june or end of year.
Extra
- ABC OnLine Thousands of resources including texts, interactives, games etc. Each has Australian Curriculum-aligned activities to go with it. Covers every Learning Area K-12 and is filterable by subject, year group, resource type etc.
- SBS Offers classroom resources aligned with the Australian Curriculum and attached to clips and other content from SBS programming.
- Minecraft Education Edition Is now free until June 2020 for all holders of an Office 365 Education account.
- Audible are offering free streaming of children's and young adult audiobooks at present. Some Italian and other foreign language titles are included.
- Scholastic (US) have made many of their learning activities freely available during the US school closures. Suits K-9 only.
- TEDEd run a program supporting students to explore a topic of interest and create their own TED talk-style presentation. Could be useful for developing a longer-term project.
- Melbourne Zoo is livestreaming during its closure
- Explore hosts live cam feeds of animals from around the world. Great for writing prompts!
- Australian Screen includes clips from hundreds of documentaries, films and other visual content. Covers HPE, HASS, Science, The Arts, English, Media, Technology.
- Scootle is an online archive of over 20 000 educational resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum. Covers all Learning Areas K-12
- Scootle - Creative Commons Scootle also have a Creative Commons archive with free resources that are in the public domain or have been made free to access without registering for an account:
- Asia Education Foundation includes resources for all Learning Areas K-12 aimed at facilitating the cross-curriculum priority of ‘Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia’, as well as multiculturalism more generally.
- Australian Curriculum Lessons includes lesson plans, worksheets, powerpoints and other resources.
Project Based Learning
Project based learning is an inquiry-based instructional unit - a unit in which students learn primarily through exploration.
Rapid Response Series
- TeachingOnline.com.auHere are some getting started resources that were rapidly put together in response to the sudden shift to online education